Plastics & Zaps

First of all–I’m not sure what’s up with all of the ads and propaganda on my site now.  I didn’t add them and I don’t know how to get rid of them.  Also, I noticed there are some links that I didn’t add either.  If they are underlined links–I didn’t put them there and have no idea where they’ll take you–so watch out ;-)

Last Friday, I had appointments with the plastic surgeon in Fargo and the CT simulation for radiation.  My first appointment of the day was with the plastic surgeon.  After talking with the him (and three friends who have each chosen different methods of reconstruction,) I am 90% sure I would like to have silicone implants.  However, because of my upcoming radiation treatments, reconstruction is on the back burner for now.  Radiation might cause damage to my skin that could decrease elasticity and might create problems if an implant is used.  We had a good conversation, but I have decided to revisit him and the whole issue of reconstruction later–like 9 months to a year from now.  He can reassess my radiated skin at that time and we’ll go from there.  For now–I’ll keep rockin’ the prosthesis!

***Side note–funny story about my prosthesis…  So a few weeks ago, Josh and I took the kids to Thumper Pond in Ottertail for an overnight stay to celebrate the last chemo dose (thanks again Dave & Lory!)  We went swimming and played for a long time in the water park.  It was crazy busy with tons of people and birthday parties all over.  Before we left home, I tried my prosthesis in my regular tankini swimsuit and it looked okay.  It wasn’t terribly obvious.  I figured it would work.  Most of the time when we’ve gone swimming, I’ve just gone without it because we’ve been around family or friends–not really in public.  (They do make special mastectomy swimsuits that actually hold the prosthesis, but the ones I’ve seen are kind of matronly and spendy…and I’m kinda cheap/thrifty.)  :-)   So this was my first real public outing with the prosthesis tucked in.  If you’re not familiar with Thumper Pond, you may not be able to appreciate the rest of this.  But for those who are–you know those three huge buckets/troughs suspended over the kiddie pool?  Well, I was standing under them–trying to show Mia how much fun it is to have water dumped on you.  Before I was ready for it, one of the buckets dumped and tore my swimsuit top right off my left shoulder.

Chest hanging out with mastectomy scar for all the world to see?  Yup.

Prosthesis floating at my feet?  You know it.

Any witnesses???  Of course.

As if I wasn’t getting enough stares as I tromped around the pool area with very little hair…  :-)  I guess I might invest in one of those mastectomy swimsuits after all.

Anyways–back to last Friday.  The kids know I am done with chemotherapy, but can’t quite grasp the concept of radiation.  I have tried to explain it to Tate a couple of times, but I’m not sure we’re clear yet :-)  The last time, I just told him–instead of medicine to get rid of the cancer, I’m going to have little ‘zaps’ to destroy it.  That seems to have worked…for now.  I will be starting next Tuesday and will have daily treatments through mid-January.  Thanks to my awesome co-workers, who graciously switched shifts, I’ll be able to work through my treatments without taking any time off.  Thank you ladies!

The CT simulation was pretty uneventful.  Images were taken and the staff there will work their magic to make sure I get radiation to all the right places.  I was also tattooed with four little dots that will be used for lining me up for each treatment.  I was kind of expecting the little bzzz-ing sound of a tattoo gun, but they just used a needle dipped into some kind of ink.  Simple!

After all of that, I’m all set to begin the next phase of this journey!  Thank you all for your continued support and prayers!

 

9 thoughts on “Plastics & Zaps

  1. Cass, your story from Thumper Pond is sad and funny all at the same time. I am glad you can have a sense of humor about the whole situation! Good luck with your radiation, you continue to be in my thoughts and prayers daily!

  2. Thanks for the updates AND story- you can’t help but laugh!! Hope the radiation goes as smoothly as it can for you. You are going to have to update your ipod for those long drives to Fargo everyday!! If you ever want a driving buddy let me know, me and Brody would be happy to keep ya company!!

  3. Oh, Cassie I enjoyed your story about Thumper Pond and I am so glad you have such a wonderful sense of humor through your journey. You continue to be in my prayers. Love you girl!

  4. You go girl!!! I am so proud of you. Thanks for sharing. I still think you could write a book about all this. It gives a good laugh through a very difficult time. Love you all

  5. I’m so glad you are done with the nasty chemo and side effects!! Hopefully radiation will seem like a breeze after all this. I realize it’s not that simple, but at least you are on the down hill slide of your treatment plan. As for the whole pool incident, I’m so sorry you had to go through that – I can only imagine how I would have felt. Your ability to share this journey, even in the hard times, continues to amaze and inspire me. We will continue to keep you & your family in our thoughts and prayers! :-)

Leave a Reply

